Quote

My Experiences Created My Passion

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Baggage Check.”

I think my past experiences influence every aspect of my life and I think my experiences have been incorporated into my personality. I give them huge credit for how I am. So what was my last major decision? Hmm…

Well, growing up with depression and anxiety issues really impacted my choices of career choice. I’ve had anxiety since I was born and I’ve struggled with depression since my teens. I didn’t understand my feelings when I was in my adolescence and I didn’t feel accepted or understood in my family or with friends. So, that drove me to look to the internet for explanations. I ran across the DSM and descriptions of anxiety and depression that seemed to explain everything I was feeling, and that sparked the passion that has driven me ever since.

Over the years, I have realised how important it is to me to study and expand the knowledge (and acceptance) around these disorders but also to help the people suffering from them. That has influenced my choices around my career path, such as choosing to study Psychology in university and to work in the mental health field. I hope to continue my education and I hope to increase the knowledge and acceptance of mental health and its issues for the rest of my life. That is my true calling.

4 thoughts on “My Experiences Created My Passion

    • With depression and/or anxiety? I would suggest getting in contact with your local mental health groups and try some counselling possibly. It can be very helpful! You can also talk to your doctor as a starting point. Hopefully things get better for you soon!

      Like

Leave a Reply

