Quote

Bars and Me

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Fill In the Blank.”

Three people walk into a bar, then two more, and then four more. People keep piling in through the bar doors while only a handful trickle out. I stand there and watch them and wonder what the appeal is. I have never been in a bar … and I’ve honestly never had the desire to. I went to a pub once which was alright, but it was basically a restaurant experience except with beer.

Instead of going in, I always turn and leave. I go home, crawl into bed with my kitty and boyfriend, and watch awesome tv shows or movies. I get obsessive over movies and shows so it’s always a fun time for me to watch. I don’t even regret missing out on this “essential experience” as it doesn’t feel very essential to me.

What is it that pushes me away from bars? I think there are a lot of reasons … but I think it mostly fits into two reasons: 1. I don’t like being around crowds of people as I get very panicky and 2. I don’t like being around people who are under the influence of something. That may make it seem like I am some stuck up or terrified innocent, but truly it’s just about preference. Would I rather surround myself with people who are drinking or would I rather lie in bed with only my boyfriend and cat? That’s a pretty easy question.

Leave a Reply

